Kathryn Davis

Kathryn Lynn Davis has published eight novels of historical fiction (including her first, The Dakotas: At the Wind’s Edge—banned in Medora, ND—Child of Awe; Sing to Me of Dreams; and the New York Times bestseller, Too Deep for Tears). Her short story, “Clouds Across the Moon,” appeared in Mother (Pocket, 1996)--an anthology of short stories and poems by authors including Maya Angelou, Amy Tan, Joyce Carole Oates, Barbara Kingsolver, et al. Her books have been published in Great Britain, Australia, Canada, and New Zealand; and have been translated into French, Hebrew, German, Italian, and French Canadian. She also writes legal suspense, mysteries, and has several novels of mainstream fiction in the works.

A native of southern California, she earned a B.A. in English and History, and an M.A. in History from the University of California, Riverside, where she teaches creative writing for their Extension program--specializing in courses on works-in-progress. She has taught journalism and copyediting at the university level, as well as lecturing all over the country. She was recently a guest lecturer/reader at the James Joyce Cultural Centre in Dublin, Ireland. In addition, she presents creativity workshops in public schools in an effort to encourage students to read, write and dream.

For the past 25 years, aside from editing her own work, she has edited others' manuscripts for content, style, grammar, punctuation and pacing, and has coached college students on writing skills, coherence and the elements of drama. She is a member of Novelists Inc., the Author's Guild, and Romance Writers of America, and has worked with aspiring writers, some of whom later had their work published by major publishers, including Pocket Books, Dell, Kensington, Avon and Silhouette. She enjoys the editing process--in her own work and others'--and finds great satisfaction in the accomplishments of those she has coached.

Specializes in women's fiction, mysteries, suspense, historical fiction, mainstream fiction, coming-of-age, thrillers, psychological suspense, romantic suspense (Gothic & contemporary), and romance.


THE DAKOTAS: AT THE WIND'S EDGE. Pinnacle Books, 1983
THE DAKOTAS: THE ENDLESS SKY. Pinnacle Books, 1984
MEMORIES AND ASHES. Jove Books, 1985
CHILD OF AWE. Jove Books, 1987
TOO DEEP FOR TEARS. Pocket Books (hardcover), 1989
TOO DEEP FOR TEARS. Pocket Books (paperback), 1990
CHILD OF AWE. (Re-release), Pocket Books (paperback), 1990
SING TO ME OF DREAMS. Pocket Books (hardcover), 1990
SING TO ME OF DREAMS. Pocket Books (paperback), 1992
ALL WE HOLD DEAR. Pocket Books (hardcover) 1995
“Clouds Across The Moon,” Short Story, in MOTHER, ed. Claudia O’Keefe. (Trade Paperback), 1996
ALL WE HOLD DEAR. Pocket Books (paperback), 1996
SOMEWHERE LIES THE MOON. Pocket Books (hardcover), 1999
SOMWHERE LIES THE MOON. Pocket Books (paperback), 2000
AT THE WIND’S EDGE. (Reissue), Zebra Books (paperback), 2000
THE ENDLESS SKY. (Reissue), Zebra Books (paperback), 2001